Books I Read In June

June has been a slow but steady reading month, I feel like I’ve spent a lot of time reading but haven’t *actually* read all that much. Still, what I have read has been EXCELLENT, so let’s crack on shall we.

Stargazer by Laurie Petrou

Gifted by publishers.

I’ve already done a full review on this one so I’ll keep it brief. A dark and twisty exploration into when female friendships go toxic. An exhilarating summer read I’d recommend for fans of Sally Rooney.

★★★★★

The Summer Wedding In Santorini by Samantha Parks

Now, this one isn’t out for a loooong time, but I had to include it! My wonderful pal Sam trusted me enough to read an early draft of her new book, and then the final edit too! I’m so excited for this to come out, it’s the fun summer romance read we all need. Mark your calendars for February, preorder it so you won’t forget!

★★★★★

The Blood Traitor by Lynette Noni

The final installment of The Prison Healer series was everything I’d hoped it would be. If you love dark fantasy, enemies to lovers vibes, warring Royals, look no further. This is a really unique setting for a fantasy trilogy and I’d recommend it for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Laura Sebastian.

★★★★★

Juniper And Thorn by Ava Reid

The dark, twisting, addictive fairy tale you didn’t know you needed to read. This book is so toe curlingly spooky I thought about pulling a Joey and putting it in the freezer a few times. If you like your fairy tales and folklore, read this.

★★★★★

This Vicious Grace by Emily Thiede

One girl is tasked with joining forces with a powerful magic fonte, to save her country in a battle with demons – the catch is she kills everyone she touches. There’s a romance to die for and beautiful, the banter is 10/10 and the apocalypse is on it’s way. You’re going to want to read this.

★★★★★

If You Still Recognise Me by Cynthia So

This book is heartwarming and heartbreaking in equal measure, an intimate exploration of queer teenagers coming to terms with their sexuality. It really examines so many relationships with not only sexuality, but other people’s acceptance of it. A heartwarming summer read.

★★★★★

The Darkening by Sunya Mara

If you’re looking for a book with magical revolutionaries and ‘you should be my enemy but I want to kiss you’ vibes, then you’re in luck. This book has demonic god possessed rulers, Hunger Games style class systems, a handsome love interest who can fly, a magic system based in symbolism and a magical storm that spews out demonic beasts and threatens to swallow the city whole. Yes, it’s excellent.

★★★★★

This Wicked Fate by Kalynn Bayron

Greek mythology, plant magic and lesbians? Yes please. This Poison Heart was one of my favourite 2021 reads, so I was buzzed for this release and it certainly lived up to the hype I created. This duology will forever be one of my number one recs if you ask me for a YA fantasy recommendation.

★★★★★

Her Majesty’s Royal Coven by Juno Dawson

You know when you read a book at exactly the right time, well, Her Majesty’s Royal Coven and it was the book I needed this weekend. On the surface, Juno Dawson’s latest book is an urban fantasy about a coven of witches serving at Her Majesty’s pleasure, but really it’s an angry novel about social justice. In a world where women finally have power, you’d expect things to be easier. But with racism, transphobia, homophobia, and misogyny still rampant, what’s a witch to do? Fight back, of course.
This book comes out in a months time and if, like me, you’re feeling angry this week, I highly recommend preordering it.

★★★★★

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna

The cosy witchy romance we all need this summer. Mika Moon is off to train some baby witches in a secret seaside house. In between harvesting starlight and boiling potions, she finds the family she always dreamed of. Wholesome, adorable and unputdownable.

★★★★★

A whole month of 5★ reads! Let’s hope the streak continues into July.

What did you read in June?